IGP's Brenden Kuerbis will convene a break out group of civil society participants from the Noncommercial Users Constituency during the Code of Good Practice workshop.  The workshop, hosted by the Association for Progressive Communications, along with the UNECE and Council of Europe, will be held at the Internet Governance Forum at Sharm el Sheikh, Egypt on Wednesday 18 November from 9:00-10:30 (local time, 7:00-9:30 UTC) in Room 3 (Suez Canal).

From the workshop description:

This workshop takes forward an initiative that has been developed since the first IGF in Athens. This first draft of a Code is based on the WSIS principles and on existing arrangements in Internet Governance (IG) institutions and uses the Aarhus Convention as a benchmark where appropriate. It is the result of consultations with IG stakeholders during the IGF process since 2006 and of a comparative assessment (mapping) of existing information and participation arrangements in a number of selected IG institutions that agreed to participate in this exercise. The aim of the workshop is to discuss the draft text with a view to an agreement on its format and its key elements from the perspective of both IG entities and Internet users.  The workshop will consist of a facilitated process of different stakeholder groups discussing the draft principles and code of practice from their perspective.

1 thought on “Upcoming Event: IGF Workshop #96 – IGF Workshop: Code of good practice on participation, access to information and transparency in Internet governance

  1. Anyone want to watch Paint Dry ?
    Months and months to find 3 new Board members ?…and a year to seat them…?
    …GLACIAL in an industry that should attract change and innovation…
    * Initial meeting of 2010 Nom Com in Seoul, South Korea – 30-31
    October 2009
    * Opening of Nomination Period – 13 November 2009
    * Deadline for Full Consideration by Nom Com – 2 April 2010
    * Review and Evaluation – early April to end June
    * Face-to-Face Meeting and Selection – 25-27 June 2010 in Brussels, Belgium
    * Results Announced to ICANN Secretary – early September 2010
    * Selected candidates take their positions as the conclusion of
    the ICANN Annual General Meeting 2010, 10 December 2010
    The members of the 2010 Nominating Committee are: Wolfgang
    Kleinwaechter (Chair), Hartmut Richard Glaser (Associate Chair),
    Tricia Drakes (Advisor), Yaovi Atohoun, Jeffrey R. Bedser, Olivier M.
    J. Crepin-Leblond, Margarita Valdes Cortes, Eduardo Diaz, Jan
    Gruntorád, Tony Holmes, Norbert Klein, Bill Manning, Chris Martin,
    Elliot Noss, Michael Palage, Mark Partridge, Mike Roberts, José Ovidio
    Salgueiro, Francisco da Silva, Henk Uijterwaal, Wilfried Woeber and
    Hong Xue.

Comments are closed.